Duplicate Title Application2018-08-01T16:11:54+00:00

You had a title previously issued
IN YOUR NAME
and lost that document.

Professional document preparation. Documents and checklist prepared for your signature and filing for title within 48 hours.

duplicate title

– or –
FREE Do it yourself instructions,
forms and videos.

Duplicate Title Process

Simply visit the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles), or government agency in the state where the last title was issued in your name. Bring your photo ID for verification. They will verify that you were the last titled owner of the vehicle, and verify your identity. They will then issue a new replacement title document printed exactly as the last one was.

Liens – If there was a lien on the vehicle when the last title was issued, you will need to obtain a lien release from the lender. Even if the lien has been paid off, the DMV will likely not have been made aware of this event and will still how it as a cloud on the title. Click Here to visit our section on obtaining a lien release.

Other owners – If there are multiple owners listed on the title, each person will need to sign the duplicate title application, unless they are listed as “or” owners.

Not in your name – If the vehicle was transferred to you but a new legal title was never issued to you by the DMV, then the last person who had a legal title document with their name printed on the front will need to make application for the duplicate. Click Here to visit our section on contacting prior owners.

Purged records – If there has been no title or active registration issued on the vehicle in 5 or 7 years (depending on the state), the prior ownership records may have been purged from the system, and a duplicate title request may not be allowed. Click Here to visit our section on bonded titles.

Out of the area – In most cases, the DMV will require the legal owner to present themself in person to request the duplicate title document. The agency does not want to hand a legal document to a person who is not the legal owner, and would want to verify the identity of the person requesting the document by matching their photo ID. If you have moved to a different state, you may be able to request an affidavit form that you can have notarized at your location and send by postal mail.

Deceased – If the person listed as legal owner on title has become deceased, the DMV will request a death certificate and documentation demonstrating that the person requesting the replacement title is the legal heir by statute or by will/probate/estate. Click Here to visit our section on paperwork for deceased owner vehicle title applications.

Alabama – $15

Alaska – $15

Arizona – $4

Arkansas – $10

California – $20

Colorado – $8.20

Connecticut – $25

Delaware – $50

Florida – $79.75

Georgia – $8

Hawaii – $5

Idaho – $14

Illinois – $95

Indiana – $25

Iowa – $25

Kansas – $10

Kentucky – $6

Louisiana – $68.50

Maine – $33

Maryland – $20

Massachusetts – $25

Michigan – $15

Minnesota – $7.25

Mississippi – $9

Missouri – $8.50

Montana – $10

Nebraska – $14

Nevada – $21

New Hampshire – $25

New Jersey – $60

New Mexico – $16.50

New York – $20

North Carolina – $20

North Dakota – $5

Ohio – $15

Oklahoma – $12.50

Oregon – $77

Pennsylvania – $53

Rhode Island – $51.50

South Carolina – $15

South Dakota – $10

Tennessee – $11

Texas – $2

Utah – $6

Vermont – $35

Virginia – $10

Washington – $31

West Virginia – $15

Wisconsin – $20

Wyoming – $15

More Than 1,000,000 Titles Processed

TEXT THE WORD “TITLE” TO:
256-448-4853
TO DETERMINE WHICH TYPE OF
TITLE WOULD WORK IN YOUR CASE

Professional document preparation. Documents and checklist prepared for your signature and filing for title within 48 hours.

order bonded title

– or –
FREE Do it yourself instructions, forms and videos.

You had a title previously issued in your name, and lost that document.

Simply visit the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles), or government agency in the state where the last title was issued in your name. Bring your photo ID for verification. They will verify that you were the last titled owner of the vehicle, and verify your identity. They will then issue a new replacement title document printed exactly as the last one was.

Liens – If there was a lien on the vehicle when the last title was issued, you will need to obtain a lien release from the lender. Even if the lien has been paid off, the DMV will likely not have been made aware of this event and will still how it as a cloud on the title. Click Here to visit our section on obtaining a lien release.

Other owners – If there are multiple owners listed on the title, each person will need to sign the duplicate title application, unless they are listed as “or” owners.

Not in your name – If the vehicle was transferred to you but a new legal title was never issued to you by the DMV, then the last person who had a legal title document with their name printed on the front will need to make application for the duplicate. Click Here to visit our section on contacting prior owners.

Purged records – If there has been no title or active registration issued on the vehicle in 5 or 7 years (depending on the state), the prior ownership records may have been purged from the system, and a duplicate title request may not be allowed. Click Here to visit our section on bonded titles.

Out of the area – In most cases, the DMV will require the legal owner to present themself in person to request the duplicate title document. The agency does not want to hand a legal document to a person who is not the legal owner, and would want to verify the identity of the person requesting the document by matching their photo ID. If you have moved to a different state, you may be able to request an affidavit form that you can have notarized at your location and send by postal mail.

Deceased – If the person listed as legal owner on title has become deceased, the DMV will request a death certificate and documentation demonstrating that the person requesting the replacement title is the legal heir by statute or by will/probate/estate. Click Here to visit our section on paperwork for deceased owner vehicle title applications.

vehicle types

Title Orders Call 256-448-4853!

5 Easy Steps:

LOCATE STATE FOR APPLICATION
Determine last state of registration OR run a VIN search to find prior title state.

FILL IN TITLE APPLICATION
Obtain the correct application form for duplicate title and fill in the correct details, signature, and notarize as needed.

SUBMIT TO DMV
Submit completed form and correct fee by mail or in person to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

RECEIVE NEW TITLE CERTIFICATE IN YOUR NAME

titles processed

Alabama – $15

Alaska – $15

Arizona – $4

Arkansas – $10

California – $20

Colorado – $8.20

Connecticut – $25

Delaware – $50

Florida – $79.75

Georgia – $8

Hawaii – $5

Idaho – $14

Illinois – $95

Indiana – $25

Iowa – $25

Kansas – $10

Kentucky – $6

Louisiana – $68.50

Maine – $33

Maryland – $20

Massachusetts – $25

Michigan – $15

Minnesota – $7.25

Mississippi – $9

Missouri – $8.50

Montana – $10

Nebraska – $14

Nevada – $21

New Hampshire – $25

New Jersey – $60

New Mexico – $16.50

New York – $20

North Carolina – $20

North Dakota – $5

Ohio – $15

Oklahoma – $12.50

Oregon – $77

Pennsylvania – $53

Rhode Island – $51.50

South Carolina – $15

South Dakota – $10

Tennessee – $11

Texas – $2

Utah – $6

Vermont – $35

Virginia – $10

Washington – $31

West Virginia – $15

Wisconsin – $20

Wyoming – $15