Find Prior Vehicle Owner2018-08-01T16:13:39+00:00

You need to locate your vehicle’s
PRIOR OWNER
for a title transfer.

Professional document preparation. Documents and checklist prepared for your signature and filing for title within 48 hours.

prior owner

– or –
FREE Do it yourself instructions,
forms and videos.

Locating Your Vehicle’s Prior Owner

Driver’s Privacy Protection Act

The Driver’s Privacy Protection Act is a Federal law which prohibits the release of vehicle ownership information to third parties. It is designed to protect the privacy of a vehicle owner, so that their address and personal information about where they live can not be obtained with a license plate number or VIN#.

Prior Owner Letter

If your vehicle’s prior owner can be located, the next step is to make them aware of the issue. At CarTitles.com, we use the following letter to make the parties aware of the issue and hopefully resolve it.

Alabama

See the state web site at the link provided.

Alaska

Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Alaska statutes may obtain an Alaska Motor Vehicle Record. Complete a Request for Vehicle Record Form 851 (link provided on this page), sign and date the form, submit payment and any required documents to the Alaska DMV. There is a $10 fee for each record. Government agencies are not charged for this service.

By Mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Research
1300 W Benson Blvd, Ste. 200
Anchorage, AK 99506-3600

By Fax: 907-269-5202
By Email: doa.dmv.research@alaska.gov

Arizona

If you are the owner of record on the Arizona title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle Record (MVR):
Online through the motor vehicle record request service on ServiceArizona.com
By mail using the Motor Vehicle Record Request form 46-4416

If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in Arizona, you may ask the vehicle owner to provide you with an Arizona MVR prior to purchase of the vehicle.
Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Arizona during the last 5 years may not be eligible for an MVR.
A Title and Registration MVR contains the following information: Owner, vehicle, lien and brand.

Arkansas

Arkansas is under the Federal Driver’s privacy act and will not give out information belonging to someone else. If you need information from when you owned the vehicle you may send in a written request along with a copy of your driver’s license to request the information. Your request must contain the following:

1. Vehicle specifics such as description of vehicle, VIN number, license plate number or name with address for an alpha search.
2. Reason for requesting the information.
3. Fees are $1.00 for owner/lien holder information and $1.00 for each copy of documents requested such as bill of sale, contracts, etc.

Mail your request to:
Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles Records Unit, Room 1100
P. O. Box 1272
Little Rock, AR 72203

If you need additional information you may contact our Information/Records Unit by phone at 501-682-4692 or by fax at 501-682-4756 or by email at MVInformation@dfa.arkansas.gov

California

See the state web site at the link provided.

Colorado

See the state web site at the link provided.

Connecticut

State of Connecticut
Dept of Motor Vehicles
Records Information
60 State St
Wethersfield, CT 06161
860-263-5700

Delaware

See the state web site at the link provided.

Florida

See the state web site at the link provided.

Georgia

See the state web site at the link provided.

Hawaii

No current information.

Idaho

See the state web site at the link provided.

Illinois

Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Illinois statutes may obtain an Illinois Motor Vehicle Record. Inquiries about registration and title records should be directed to:

Secretary of State
Motor Vehicle Records Division
Record Inquiry Section
501 S. Second St., Rm. 408
Springfield, IL 62756

Phone: 217-782-6992 or 217-785-3000
Fax: 217/524-0122

Indiana

See the state web site at the link provided.

Iowa

Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services
P.O. Box 9278
Des Moines, IA 50306-9278

vehser@dot.iowa.gov
Phone: 515-237-3110
Fax: 515-237-3056

Kansas

Go to the Kansas site linked or click on the Download Form link.

Kentucky

Use linked form for motor vehicle or boat record that includes personal information. Submit according to mail-in directions on form. Current record retention is five years.

Louisiana

See the state web site at the link provided.

Maine

InforME
45 Commerce Drive, Suite 10
Augusta, Maine 04330

Phone: 207-621-2600 or 207-512-5605
Toll-Free: 877-212-6500
Fax: 207-621-9950
Email: info@informe.org
For subscriber information: 207-621-2600 x038

Maryland

To request a certified copy of a vehicle record requires completion of an application Request for Motor Vehicle Administration Records DR-057 (linked). Once completed, the form may brought in person to any full service MVA office or mailed to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. The fee for certified copy of a vehicle record is $12.00 and the fee for a non-certified copy is $9.00. Please make checks or money orders payable to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
Division of Vehicle Records
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

Phone – in-state: 410-768-7000
Phone – out of state: 410-768-7000
Hearing Impaired TTY: 1-800-492-4575
General Information Line: 410-768-7000

Massachusetts

Visit the state site linked, select “Title/Lien inquiry” and follow instructions.

Michigan

Driver and vehicle records are released in compliance with Driver Privacy Protection Laws.

Complete driver and vehicle records may be requested through the Record Lookup Unit at 517-322-1624. Records are $8 each ($9 for a certified record) and provided at no charge to government agencies.

Form BDVR-153 is used for individuals requesting their own record. Form BDVR-154 is used for an individual or commercial organization requesting another person’s record. Form BDVR-155 is for use by government agencies. These forms are available on the state web site.

Bulk data is available through the List Sales Program. Address inquiries to 517-322-3452 or ListSales@Michigan.gov. Bulk records are record extracts (primarily header information) and do not contain driving, title or registration history.

Minnesota

DVS Records Office: 651-215-1335

Mississippi

Download the Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Form at the state site. Instructions and fees are explained in the packet.

Missouri

Montana

See the state web site at the link provided.

Nebraska

See the state web site at the link provided.

Nevada

See the state web site at the link provided.

New Hampshire

Download the linked form and submit to state.

New Jersey

Businesses may access applications & obtain information through the NJMVC records website linked here.

New Mexico

New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division
Joseph Montoya Building
P.O. Box 1028
1100 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe 87504-1028

Phone Toll Free: 888-683-4636 or 888-MVD-INFO

Use this linked form if you would like to obtain a vehicle record.
Special Instructions: In addition to taking this form to an MVD office. This form can be faxed to 505-827-2783. Be sure to include your name and phone number.

New York

See link for info.

North Carolina

See the state web site at the link provided.

North Dakota

North Dakota vehicle record information may be requested by submitting the Request for Vehicle Information – SFN 51269. Instructions and fees are explained on the form. Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on this form. Or email the signed completed form to mv@nd.gov.

Ohio

See the state web site at the link provided.

Oklahoma

See the state web site at the link provided.

Oregon

No current information available.

Pennsylvania

If you are the owner of the vehicle, you may purchase a vehicle history by downloading a Request for Vehicle Information (DL-135) from the linked state site. Click on Forms and Publications, All Motor Vehicle Forms, Publications and FAQ’s, and DL-135. Forms must be mailed to PennDOT for processing.

Rhode Island

No current information available.

South Carolina

If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in South Carolina, you may request a South Carolina title history by submitting a completed Request for Vehicle Information form (Form 5027-A) to:

SCDMV
Post Office Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29216-0024

The title history for the vehicle will include odometer information. However, the name and address of the registered owner(s) is not available. The cost for the Title History is $6.00. For expedited processing, include an additional $20.00 fee for each record. Make checks payable to SCDMV.

South Dakota

Please submit your request to the following: motorv@state.sd.us

Tennessee

See the state web site at the link provided.

Texas

The consumer must:
1. Complete and sign the form VTR-275 located at http://txdmv.gov/forms.
2. Certify by initialing their intended use of the information on the back of the form
3. Submit the form by mail along with a copy of the consumer’s photo identification and the appropriate fee ($5.75, title history or $6.75 for a certified title history). If the requested information will be used in legal purposes, we recommend that a “certified title history” be ordered.
To ensure the most current request form is used please use the appropriate form from the site.

Utah

If you are the owner of record on the Utah State title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle Record by completing Utah form TC-890. Once completed please mail the form and payment to the address listed on the form
If you are not the owner, please review the other authorized reasons listed on our form. If you can meet one of these conditions, you may be entitled to the motor vehicle information.

You can obtain this form on-line at the linked site. Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Utah during the last 10 years may not be eligible for a record search. The owner name, vehicle information, lien holder and any brands will be provided.

Vermont

See the state web site at the link provided.

Virginia

For a Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI) on a vehicle titled in Virginia go to www.dmvnow.com. On DMV’s home page, go to the bottom of the page under General Information and click on Obtaining DMV Records. Once on the screen titled Obtaining DMV Records, look down the list of available transactions for Vehicle History Reports and click on the Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI).

Washington

Washington State vehicle record information may be requested by submitting a Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure Request form to the Department of Licensing.
Access the DOL home page web site at http://www.dol.wa.gov
Click on the word “Forms”, located in the upper grey part of the home page, found toward the right hand side.
Click on the heading called “Public Disclosure”, which is located in the middle column titled “Forms by Subject”.
Scroll down this list to the second heading titled: “Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure Requests”
Click on the first bullet in the list called: “Vehicle/Vessel Disclosure Request” (form #TD-420-531) o Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on the second page of this form. Or call the Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure unit at (360) 902-3780 and we will mail or fax the form to you.

Your request will be acknowledged within five business days of receipt.

Public Records Request Review
Prior to release, Vehicle/Vessel public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and state laws. DOL will either provide you with:
The records you seek, or notify you in writing with an explanation of the applicable statutory exemptions that prevent release of the records, along with an explanation of how those exemptions apply, in whole or in part, to the records you seek.

West Virginia

Contact the state Records Management Unit at (304)558-0282 or go to the linked site and download and complete form DMV100 “Request for Vehicle Information” and either mail or take to our Vehicle Services section at the main DMV office in Kanawha City, WV with the applicable fees.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin vehicle record information can be requested by submitting the Record request form and a $5.00 fee for each record. If personal information is being requested, the form needs to have one of the boxes checked authorizing release of personal information.

Wyoming

If you are the owner of record on the Title, you must contact the County Clerk in the county that the title was issued to order a duplicate title. If you are the registered owner of record on the Registration, you must contact the County Treasurer in the county that the license plate and registration was issued to order a duplicate registration or replace a lost or stolen license plate.

The County Clerk’s and County Treasurer’s telephone numbers are listed on the linked site.

For a title search, we follow the Federal Privacy Disclosure Act. If you qualify, you may complete our Privacy Disclosure Agreement and pay $5.00 for each title search. The Agreement is found on our website at http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/titles_plates_registration/title_search.html

More Than 1,000,000 Titles Processed

TEXT THE WORD “TITLE” TO:
256-448-4853
TO DETERMINE WHICH TYPE OF
TITLE WOULD WORK IN YOUR CASE

You have a vehicle with
NO TITLE
and limited documentation.

You need to locate your vehicle’s
PRIOR OWNER
for a title transfer.

Professional document preparation. Documents and checklist prepared for your signature and filing for title within 48 hours.

order bonded title

– or –
FREE Do it yourself instructions, forms and videos.

vehicle types

Locating Your Vehicle’s Prior Owner

4 Easy Steps:

LOOK UP TITLE HISTORY
Look up the state of last title, then request the name and address of the owner under the DPPA law exception.

LOCATE THE PRIOR OWNER
The title record will have the address on file when the original title was issued. Search for the current location using social media or investigation.

SEND REQUEST FOR SIGNATURE
Write to the current address of the prior owner, including pre-filled title application and return envelope.

TRANSFER THE TITLE INTO YOUR NAME
Take the signed duplicate transfer form to your state DMV office and exchange for a new title in your name.

Driver’s Privacy Protection Act

The Driver’s Privacy Protection Act is a Federal law which prohibits the release of vehicle ownership information to third parties. It is designed to protect the privacy of a vehicle owner, so that their address and personal information about where they live can not be obtained with a license plate number or VIN#.

Prior Owner Letter

If your vehicle’s prior owner can be located, the next step is to make them aware of the issue. At CarTitles.com, we use the following letter to make the parties aware of the issue and hopefully resolve it.

Alabama

See the state web site at the link provided.

Alaska

Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Alaska statutes may obtain an Alaska Motor Vehicle Record. Complete a Request for Vehicle Record Form 851 (link provided on this page), sign and date the form, submit payment and any required documents to the Alaska DMV. There is a $10 fee for each record. Government agencies are not charged for this service.

By Mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Research
1300 W Benson Blvd, Ste. 200
Anchorage, AK 99506-3600

By Fax: 907-269-5202
By Email: doa.dmv.research@alaska.gov

Arizona

If you are the owner of record on the Arizona title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle Record (MVR):
Online through the motor vehicle record request service on ServiceArizona.com
By mail using the Motor Vehicle Record Request form 46-4416

If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in Arizona, you may ask the vehicle owner to provide you with an Arizona MVR prior to purchase of the vehicle.
Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Arizona during the last 5 years may not be eligible for an MVR.
A Title and Registration MVR contains the following information: Owner, vehicle, lien and brand.

Arkansas

Arkansas is under the Federal Driver’s privacy act and will not give out information belonging to someone else. If you need information from when you owned the vehicle you may send in a written request along with a copy of your driver’s license to request the information. Your request must contain the following:

1. Vehicle specifics such as description of vehicle, VIN number, license plate number or name with address for an alpha search.
2. Reason for requesting the information.
3. Fees are $1.00 for owner/lien holder information and $1.00 for each copy of documents requested such as bill of sale, contracts, etc.

Mail your request to:
Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles Records Unit, Room 1100
P. O. Box 1272
Little Rock, AR 72203

If you need additional information you may contact our Information/Records Unit by phone at 501-682-4692 or by fax at 501-682-4756 or by email at MVInformation@dfa.arkansas.gov

California

See the state web site at the link provided.

Colorado

See the state web site at the link provided.

Connecticut

State of Connecticut
Dept of Motor Vehicles
Records Information
60 State St
Wethersfield, CT 06161
860-263-5700

Delaware

See the state web site at the link provided.

Florida

See the state web site at the link provided.

Georgia

See the state web site at the link provided.

Hawaii

No current information.

Idaho

See the state web site at the link provided.

Illinois

Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Illinois statutes may obtain an Illinois Motor Vehicle Record. Inquiries about registration and title records should be directed to:

Secretary of State
Motor Vehicle Records Division
Record Inquiry Section
501 S. Second St., Rm. 408
Springfield, IL 62756

Phone: 217-782-6992 or 217-785-3000
Fax: 217/524-0122

Indiana

See the state web site at the link provided.

Iowa

Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services
P.O. Box 9278
Des Moines, IA 50306-9278

vehser@dot.iowa.gov
Phone: 515-237-3110
Fax: 515-237-3056

Kansas

Go to the Kansas site linked or click on the Download Form link.

Kentucky

Use linked form for motor vehicle or boat record that includes personal information. Submit according to mail-in directions on form. Current record retention is five years.

Louisiana

See the state web site at the link provided.

Maine

InforME
45 Commerce Drive, Suite 10
Augusta, Maine 04330

Phone: 207-621-2600 or 207-512-5605
Toll-Free: 877-212-6500
Fax: 207-621-9950
Email: info@informe.org
For subscriber information: 207-621-2600 x038

Maryland

To request a certified copy of a vehicle record requires completion of an application Request for Motor Vehicle Administration Records DR-057 (linked). Once completed, the form may brought in person to any full service MVA office or mailed to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. The fee for certified copy of a vehicle record is $12.00 and the fee for a non-certified copy is $9.00. Please make checks or money orders payable to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
Division of Vehicle Records
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

Phone – in-state: 410-768-7000
Phone – out of state: 410-768-7000
Hearing Impaired TTY: 1-800-492-4575
General Information Line: 410-768-7000

Massachusetts

Visit the state site linked, select “Title/Lien inquiry” and follow instructions.

Michigan

Driver and vehicle records are released in compliance with Driver Privacy Protection Laws.

Complete driver and vehicle records may be requested through the Record Lookup Unit at 517-322-1624. Records are $8 each ($9 for a certified record) and provided at no charge to government agencies.

Form BDVR-153 is used for individuals requesting their own record. Form BDVR-154 is used for an individual or commercial organization requesting another person’s record. Form BDVR-155 is for use by government agencies. These forms are available on the state web site.

Bulk data is available through the List Sales Program. Address inquiries to 517-322-3452 or ListSales@Michigan.gov. Bulk records are record extracts (primarily header information) and do not contain driving, title or registration history.

Minnesota

DVS Records Office: 651-215-1335

Mississippi

Download the Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Form at the state site. Instructions and fees are explained in the packet.

Missouri

Montana

See the state web site at the link provided.

Nebraska

See the state web site at the link provided.

Nevada

See the state web site at the link provided.

New Hampshire

Download the linked form and submit to state.

New Jersey

Businesses may access applications & obtain information through the NJMVC records website linked here.

New Mexico

New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division
Joseph Montoya Building
P.O. Box 1028
1100 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe 87504-1028

Phone Toll Free: 888-683-4636 or 888-MVD-INFO

Use this linked form if you would like to obtain a vehicle record.
Special Instructions: In addition to taking this form to an MVD office. This form can be faxed to 505-827-2783. Be sure to include your name and phone number.

New York

No current information available.

North Carolina

See the state web site at the link provided.

North Dakota

North Dakota vehicle record information may be requested by submitting the Request for Vehicle Information – SFN 51269. Instructions and fees are explained on the form. Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on this form. Or email the signed completed form to mv@nd.gov.

Ohio

See the state web site at the link provided.

Oklahoma

See the state web site at the link provided.

Oregon

No current information available.

Pennsylvania

If you are the owner of the vehicle, you may purchase a vehicle history by downloading a Request for Vehicle Information (DL-135) from the linked state site. Click on Forms and Publications, All Motor Vehicle Forms, Publications and FAQ’s, and DL-135. Forms must be mailed to PennDOT for processing.

Rhode Island

No current information available.

South Carolina

If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in South Carolina, you may request a South Carolina title history by submitting a completed Request for Vehicle Information form (Form 5027-A) to:

SCDMV
Post Office Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29216-0024

The title history for the vehicle will include odometer information. However, the name and address of the registered owner(s) is not available. The cost for the Title History is $6.00. For expedited processing, include an additional $20.00 fee for each record. Make checks payable to SCDMV.

South Dakota

Please submit your request to the following: motorv@state.sd.us

Tennessee

See the state web site at the link provided.

Texas

The consumer must:
1. Complete and sign the form VTR-275 located at http://txdmv.gov/forms.
2. Certify by initialing their intended use of the information on the back of the form
3. Submit the form by mail along with a copy of the consumer’s photo identification and the appropriate fee ($5.75, title history or $6.75 for a certified title history). If the requested information will be used in legal purposes, we recommend that a “certified title history” be ordered.
To ensure the most current request form is used please use the appropriate form from the site.

Utah

If you are the owner of record on the Utah State title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle Record by completing Utah form TC-890. Once completed please mail the form and payment to the address listed on the form
If you are not the owner, please review the other authorized reasons listed on our form. If you can meet one of these conditions, you may be entitled to the motor vehicle information.

You can obtain this form on-line at the linked site. Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Utah during the last 10 years may not be eligible for a record search. The owner name, vehicle information, lien holder and any brands will be provided.

Vermont

See the state web site at the link provided.

Virginia

For a Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI) on a vehicle titled in Virginia go to www.dmvnow.com. On DMV’s home page, go to the bottom of the page under General Information and click on Obtaining DMV Records. Once on the screen titled Obtaining DMV Records, look down the list of available transactions for Vehicle History Reports and click on the Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI).

Washington

Washington State vehicle record information may be requested by submitting a Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure Request form to the Department of Licensing.
Access the DOL home page web site at http://www.dol.wa.gov
Click on the word “Forms”, located in the upper grey part of the home page, found toward the right hand side.
Click on the heading called “Public Disclosure”, which is located in the middle column titled “Forms by Subject”.
Scroll down this list to the second heading titled: “Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure Requests”
Click on the first bullet in the list called: “Vehicle/Vessel Disclosure Request” (form #TD-420-531) o Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on the second page of this form. Or call the Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure unit at (360) 902-3780 and we will mail or fax the form to you.

Your request will be acknowledged within five business days of receipt.

Public Records Request Review
Prior to release, Vehicle/Vessel public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and state laws. DOL will either provide you with:
The records you seek, or notify you in writing with an explanation of the applicable statutory exemptions that prevent release of the records, along with an explanation of how those exemptions apply, in whole or in part, to the records you seek.

West Virginia

Contact the state Records Management Unit at (304)558-0282 or go to the linked site and download and complete form DMV100 “Request for Vehicle Information” and either mail or take to our Vehicle Services section at the main DMV office in Kanawha City, WV with the applicable fees.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin vehicle record information can be requested by submitting the Record request form and a $5.00 fee for each record. If personal information is being requested, the form needs to have one of the boxes checked authorizing release of personal information.

Wyoming

If you are the owner of record on the Title, you must contact the County Clerk in the county that the title was issued to order a duplicate title. If you are the registered owner of record on the Registration, you must contact the County Treasurer in the county that the license plate and registration was issued to order a duplicate registration or replace a lost or stolen license plate.

The County Clerk’s and County Treasurer’s telephone numbers are listed on the linked site.

For a title search, we follow the Federal Privacy Disclosure Act. If you qualify, you may complete our Privacy Disclosure Agreement and pay $5.00 for each title search. The Agreement is found on our website at http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/titles_plates_registration/title_search.html